Machine Learning

2020-21 (Cohort 1)


Assessments

Final 2
Thursday, June 3
Quiz 2-6
Friday, May 7
reviewed in class, 5/5
Quiz 2-5
Friday, April 16
reviewed in class, 4/21
Quiz 2-4
Friday, March 12
reviewed in class, 3/19
Quiz 2-3
Friday, February 26
reviewed in class, 3/3
Quiz 2-2
Thursday, February 11
reviewed in class, 2/17
Quiz 2-1
Friday, January 29
reviewed in class, 2/1
Final 1
Thursday, December 17
link to review
Quiz 1-6
Friday, November 20
reviewed in class, ~11/23
Quiz 1-5
Friday, October 30
reviewed in class, ~11/4
Quiz 1-4
Friday, October 16
reviewed in class, ~10/21
Quiz 1-3
Friday, October 2
reviewed in class, ~10/5
Quiz 1-2
Friday, September 18
reviewed in class, ~9/23
Quiz 1-1
Friday, September 4
reviewed in class, ~9/9


Assignments

All assignments are due on Sunday / Tuesday / Thursday nights by midnight before the next class.

  1. Friday, May 29
    Class Recording Review for final - last day of class!

  2. Wednesday, May 27
    Class Recording Review for final
    Assignment: End-of-year survey

  3. Monday, May 24
    Class Recording Review for final
    Assignment: Prof. Wierman's Videos

  4. Friday, May 21
    Class Recording Review for final
    Assignment: K-Means on Titanic Data

  5. Wednesday, May 19
    Class Recording
    Assignment: K-Means with Scikit-Learn
  6. Monday, May 17
    No class, but there is an assignment.
    Assignment: Elbow Method

  7. Friday, May 14
    Class Recording
    Assignment: Gobble Player - Minimax with Local Game Trees

  8. Wednesday, May 12
    Class Recording - gobble presentations
    Assignment: Gobble Minimax Player

  9. Monday, May 10
    No class, but there is an assignment
    Assignment: K-Means Clustering

  10. Friday, May 7
    Class Recording - "gobble" game
    Assignment: Gobble Implementation + Game Tree Analysis

  11. Wednesday, May 5
    Class Recording - review quiz 2-6, review kNN normalization, demonstration of code efficiency
    Assignment: KNN Code Efficiency + Quiz Corrections

  12. Monday, May 3
    No class, but there is an assignment
    Assignment: KNN and Normalization

  13. Friday, April 30
    Class Recording
    Assignment: KNN on Titanic Data Set, K-Fold Cross Validation

  14. Wednesday, April 28
    Class Recording - tic-tac-toe presentations. (This was a really good class!)
    Assignment: Minimax Player

  15. Monday, April 26
    Class Recording - game trees
    Assignment: Tic-Tac-Toe Implementation & Presentation Prep

  16. Friday, April 23
    Class Recording - unit testing framework presentations
    Assignment: Backward Selection; Space Empires

  17. Wednesday, April 21
    Class Recording - quiz 2-5 review
    Assignment: Quiz Corrections; Intro to Game Trees; prepare to present your unit testing framework

  18. Monday, April 19
    No class
    Assignment: Catch-up day

  19. Friday, April 16
    Class Recording - github merges, space empires game
    Assignment: Space Empires Unit Testing Framework

  20. Wednesday, April 14
    Class Recording - forward selection, merging
    Assignment: Titanic Survival Prediction - Forward Selection

  21. Monday, April 12
    Class Recording - review for Friday's quiz
    Assignment: Titanic Survival Prediction - Interaction Featurest

  22. Friday, April 2
    Class Recording (ML is second half)
    Assignment: Level 3 Strategies, Prof. Wierman Videos

  23. Thursday, April 1
    No class (but there is an assignment)
    Assignment: Predicting Titanic Survival with Logistic Regressor

  24. Monday, March 29
    No class (but there is an assignment)
    Assignment: Logistic Regression via Gradient Descent

  25. Friday, March 26
    Class Recording (ML is second half)
    Assignment: Predicting Titanic Survival with Linear Regressor: Pandas, Numpy, Sklearn

  26. Wednesday, March 24
    Class Recording (ML is second half)
    Assignment: Predicting Titanic Survival with Linear Regressor; Intro to Branches + Pull Requests

  27. Monday, March 22
    Class Recording (ML is second half)
    Assignment Problems:

  28. Friday, March 19
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - quiz 2-4 review, neural net gradient calculations, unit tests discussion
    Assignment Problems:

  29. Wednesday, March 17
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - sql query, space empires unit test planning
    Assignment Problems:

  30. Monday, March 15
    No class, but there is an assignment
    Assignment Problems:

  31. Friday, March 12
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - potential internships, upcoming meeting with Prof. Wierman, slinky development and the log of truth
    Assignment Problems:

  32. Wednesday, March 10
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - weight gradient calculations, game level 3 debugging discussion
    Assignment Problems:

  33. Monday, March 8
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - level 3 debugging discussion
    Assignment Problems:

  34. Friday, March 5
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - review pointers, level 3 matchups results
    Assignment Problems:

  35. Wednesday, March 3
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - quiz 2-3 review
    Assignment Problems:

  36. Monday, March 1
    No class, but there is an assignment
    Assignment Problems:

  37. Friday, February 26
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - Weight Gradients, Crown Game Level 2 Winners
    Assignment Problems:

  38. Wednesday, February 24
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - Using Math Notation with Neural Nets
    Assignment Problems:

  39. Monday, February 22
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - Game Level 2 Reconciliations, Logistic Regressor Neural Net via Activation Functions
    Assignment Problems:

  40. Friday, February 19
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - intro to hash tables, game levels 2/3
    Assignment Problems:

  41. Wednesday, February 17
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - review quiz 2-2, intro to neural networks
    Assignment Problems:

  42. Tuesday, February 16
    Off day, but there is a (shorter) assignment due Tuesday night.
    Assignment Problems:

  43. Wednesday, February 10
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - Pair Coding Scheduling
    Note: Since we have Friday and Monday off, and there is an asynchronous quiz tomorrow (Thursday), this assignment will be due Monday night. There will be another assignment due Wednesday, which will be released this weekend.
    Assignment Problems:

  44. Monday, February 8
    No class, but there is an assignment
    Assignment Problems:

  45. Friday, February 5
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - space empires level 1, quiz 2-1 review
    Assignment Problems:

  46. Wednesday, February 3
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - space empires level 1, quiz 2-1 review
    Assignment Problems:

  47. Monday, February 1
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - space empires level 1
    Assignment Problems:

  48. Friday, January 29
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - random forest, space empires
    Assignment Problems:

  49. Wednesday, January 27
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - shortest path in weighted graph, space empires
    Assignment Problems:

  50. Monday, January 25
    No class, but there is an assignment
    Assignment Problems:

  51. Friday, January 22
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - Space Empires, WeightedGraph class + Dijkstra's algorithm
    Assignment Problems:

  52. Wednesday, January 20
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - Refactoring, random forest, Space Empires
    Assignment Problems:

  53. Friday, January 15
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - Refactoring, standardizing game state & strategies
    Assignment Problems: (will be due Tuesday night instead of Sunday night, since Monday is a holiday)

  54. Wednesday, January 13
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - Intro to 8 queens problem, 45-2 probability, game state refactoring
    Assignment Problems:

  55. Monday, January 11
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - 77-2 csv, probability
    Assignment Problems:

  56. Friday, January 8
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - walkthrough of primary problems
    Assignment Problems:

  57. Wednesday, January 6
    Class Recording (ML is second half) - roulette probability, random forest, game refactoring
    Assignment Problems:

  58. Monday, January 4
    No class, but there is an assignment.
    Assignment Problems:

  59. Monday, December 14
    Class Recording - "blooper reel" kahoot. Unfortunately, audio was not recorded.
    Assignment Problems:

  60. Friday, December 11
    Class Recording: 72-3, 71-3, 70-3
    Assignment Problems:

  61. Wednesday, December 9
    Class Recording: agreeing upon standards for game strategy classes
    Assignment Problems:

  62. Monday, December 7
    No class, but there is an assignment.
    Assignment Problems:

  63. Friday, December 4
    Class Recording: Reviewing for 70-2; general discussion
    Assignment Problems:

  64. Wednesday, December 2
    Class Recording: 68-1, Quiz 6 Problem 2 (1-6)
    Assignment Problems:

  65. Monday, November 30
    Class Recording: 67-1, Quiz 6 Problem 1
    Assignment Problems:

  66. Friday, November 20
    Class Recording: 66-2
    Note: This assignment is due on NEXT Sunday, 11/29, because of Thanksgiving Break.
    Assignment Problems:

  67. Wednesday, November 18
    Class Recording: 64-3, 65-1, 61-1
    Assignment Problems:
    Student submissions for LaTeX portion - Riley, Colby, Elijah, George, David

  68. Monday, November 16
    No class, but there is an assignment.
    Assignment Problems:
    Student submissions for LaTeX portion - Riley, Elijah, David

  69. Friday, November 13
    Class Recording: 63-1, 62-3
    Assignment Problems:
    Student submissions for LaTeX portion - Riley (1,2), Colby, Elijah,

  70. Wednesday, November 11
    Veterans Day - no class, but there is an assignment
    Assignment Problems:
    Student submissions for LaTeX portion - Riley, Colby, Elijah, David

  71. Monday, November 9
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  72. Friday, November 6
    Class Recording: 60-2, 60-3
    Assignment Problems:
    Student submissions for LaTeX portion - Riley (1,2), Colby, Elijah, George,

  73. Wednesday, November 4
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:
    Student submissions for LaTeX portion - Riley (1,2,3), Colby, Elijah, David (1,2)

  74. Friday, October 30
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:
    Student submissions for LaTeX portion - Colby, Elijah, George, David

  75. Wednesday, October 28
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  76. Monday, October 26
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  77. Friday, October 23
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  78. Wednesday, October 21
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:
    Student submissions for LaTeX portion - Riley, Colby, Elijah, George, David

  79. Friday, October 16
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:
    Student submissions for LaTeX portion - Riley (1,2), Colby, Elijah, George, David (1,2)

  80. Wednesday, October 14
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:
    Student submissions for LaTeX portion - Riley, Colby, Elijah, George, David

  81. Monday, October 12
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:
    Student submissions for LaTeX portion - Riley, Colby, Elijah, George, David

  82. Friday, October 9
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  83. Wednesday, October 7
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:
    Student submissions for LaTeX portion - Riley (1,2), Colby, Elijah, George, David (1,2)

  84. Friday, October 2
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:
    Student submissions for LaTeX portion - Riley (1,2), Colby, Elijah, George, David (1,2)

  85. Wednesday, September 30
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  86. Monday, September 28
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:
    Student submissions for LaTeX portion - Riley, Colby, Elijah, George, David

  87. Friday, September 25
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  88. Wednesday, September 23
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  89. Friday, September 18
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  90. Wednesday, September 16
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  91. Monday, September 14
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  92. Friday, September 11
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  93. Wednesday, September 9
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  94. Friday, September 4
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  95. Wednesday, September 2
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  96. Friday, August 28
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  97. Wednesday, August 26
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  98. Monday, August 24
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems:

  99. Wednesday, August 19
    Class Recording
    Assignment Problems: